Beer Experience in Germany

Into Germany we go.  I was very VERY excited to spend some time sampling German cuisine and beer.  I have to admit, going to Germany felt a little imposing since I don’t speak, hear, understand a lick of German.  Driving into Germany for the first time on the Autobahn at 2am was definitely an experience.  Note to self, Ausfahrt means exit.

First up was a tankard of Köstritzer Schwarzbier with the Sauerkraut platter at the Hackteufel restaurant in Heidelberg Germany.  The food was incredible – refer to picture for confirmation.  It was so incredible that I ate the entire plate in 30 seconds – well almost.  The beer however was a bit of a disappointment.  It looked dark-black and intense, smelled reasonably appealing, but was rather watery in taste and lacked any real character.  It was kind of bland.  I really wanted to love this beer, just look at it!, but it wasn’t very fun.

Later that night we went to the Kulturbrauerei Heidelberg for a nice German dinner.  Wow, what a beautiful and loud place.  The French enjoy their peace and quiet while dining, but the Germans love to talk loudly, sing, be merry!  I loved it.  I loved the food, having a beef roast steak thing and a whole chicken with an apple strudel to finish it off.  I honestly don’t remember the food too much because I got the bright idea to drink a lot of the house brew.  Did I mention that a tankard of the brew is 1 litre?  I had 4, maybe 5.  They have a bunch of different flavours that I couldn’t figure out what they where on the menu.  This was a local German restaurant that doesn’t see many outside visitors, so we had a fun time trying to communicate with our waitress.  I loved everyone of the beers, to my memory, but the wheat beer was the shining star.  I bought and brought home a bottle of the wheat beer that we will sample and review over some schnitzel soon enough.

Lastly, we went to the Biergarten in Rudesheim, a busy little tourist town in the heart of their wine country, and I had a schnitzel and a pint of Quetsch Kommod beer.  The beer was slightly watery in taste, although disguised as a rich wheat beer, had a nice citrus flavour with a nice sparkle/bubble to it.  A decent beer for drinking with lunch.  And although it was a filling meal, I had to stop and grab a German sausage with hot mustard and sauerkraut at a sausage stand.

Although the food in German was unbelievable in every way, the beer was rather boring.  This is probably to do with the fact that we just came from Belgium where the beer is as bold as the sun.  German beer, from the few that I tried, are great for drinking in large quantities. Now if I could have only found some nice Paulaner, I would have been in heaven.

The one beverage that I really did enjoy was the Federweissen in Rudesheim.  It is Germany’s fall seasonal unfiltered sweet wine treat, basically a freshly fermented wine that lasts only 7 days.  We wanted to bring a bottle of the stuff home, but we were unable to as it comes in uncorked and lightly foiled over tops since sealing it off would make the bottle explode due to fermentation.

Hurray for German food!

Köstritzer Schwarzbier

Kulturbrauerei Heidelberg Wheat Beer

Quetsch Kommod

Federweissen Rudesheim

2 Responses

  1. Mr. Veska,

    I thoroughly enjoyed your review. I’ll be going to Germany myself in a couple of weeks; after reading this post, I can hardly contain my excitement!

    I’ll be contributing some more reviews from Germany and even some from Spain! But before then, I will likely be reviewing something local.

    Looking forward to more posts from everyone, myself included!

    –ioni

  2. Thanks Ioni!

    Enjoy your trip to Spain and Germany. Make sure you go for the Paulaner, probably the best German beer that I can think of. And of course, enjoy the food.

Leave a Reply

