Sierra Nevada Clone

Homebrew~!  Look-out!  So this was my first attempt at brewing an all-grain brew.  I decided to go with a recipe for a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, which is an American Ale, because it had a fairly simple malt list and hop schedule.  So I gave it a shot and its a homerun.  I really didn’t wait long aging this ale (~3 weeks) before I put it on tap.  Its a golden ale, aroma of cascade hops is evident and floral as I dry hopped this ale (added hops during the aging stage).  Initially it had a bitterness to the finish, but a lovely malt taste with fresh hoppy flavor.  Now, after a few more weeks it has smoothed out quite a bit.  It is not so bitter but still has that tell tale hoppy character to it.  Trying to compare it to others we may know,, its like a hoptical illusion/anchor steam, just more fresh (young) tasting.  I will revisit this recipe again I’m sure, but there are so many more possibilities to try before I go back to this one.

I also brewed a mini-batch of this recipe on a later date, that I have now bottled, but with a few modifications.  Instead of the American Ale yeast, I harvested Chimay yeast from the dregs of bottle of red and used it on this batch.  I also added some special candied sugar that I made.  Now I only had a sip of it during bottling, but it definitely tastes Belgian and delicious.  I’m excited for that one..

Sierra Nevada Clone

Homebrew Scale

***UPDATE:  Just a quick update on this brew.  I had been experiencing a deal of foaming and lack of carbonation of this beverage on tap.  I have isolated the problem to the short tap lines that I had on my system which don’t offer enough resistance and propagate foam production.  With longer tap lines now installed this brew has a much healthier level of carbonation and a lesser amount of head as you can see in the picture above.  I still rate this beer a 3 out of 5, but I am much happier drinking it now.
As for the limited batch of the bottled brew with Chimay yeast, it turned out alright.  It smelled a whole bunch of Chimay, initially tasted of Chimay, but lacked the complexity and the strong finish.  Because I used only a simple 2-row malt and the abv was around ~6%, it felt like it had a watery taste.  Moreover, I didn’t add enough priming sugar to the bottles because it wasn’t overly carbonated.  I did do a modification, to the single screw top bottle that I used for this beer, by adding more sugar to it for additional carbonation.  I tried if after a week or so and the results were much much better.  I would rate the properly carbed beer a 3 out of 5 as it that strong finish and taste of a Belgian with some pretty lacing to boot.  Baby steps.

3 Responses

  1. Looks pretty perfect for 3 weeks!

  2. Cheers!

    5 Gallons of perfect. Well not quite perfect, but in a drink-ability sense it is.

  3. I like the homebrew rating scale. Gonna have to try this at some point. Sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

