Rob Nagy’s IPA

Well… not really. It’s Thomas Coopers’ IPA beer kit… but I’m making it. Since I haven’t done this before, I thought I’d start of with something really basic. Basically, this is as easy as home brewing could possibly get. Everything is done for you, all you have to do is mix the ingredients and make sure all the tools are clean and sanitized.

So I disolved the contents of the can (the wort = malted barely and hops) in boiling water with some sugar.

Looks delicious… smells really good though. My bathroom now smells like a brewery.

After that I topped up the fermenter with cold water to achieve the desired temperature which is suggested to be around 20 – 30 C.

According to my thermometer (which doesn’t seem to give very accurate readings, may have to invest in one that works), it was still a bit warm so I added some ice to adjust the temperature and fill it up to 23 litres.

Now measuring the specific gravity with my hydrometer to determine the the original gravity (which is done before adding the yeast and allowing fermentation to begin). The measurement taken after the fermenting is called final gravity and you use these 2 numbers with a formula to determine the approximate alcohol content of the brew. The OG reading for this batch was 1.030. The manual says it should be around 1.042, but it was still within the healthy beer range according to the hydrometer.

Now adding the yeast…

And that’s it for now. Put the lid on the fermenter with an airlock and let it happily ferment for a few days. I made this on Friday, so I’ll check the specific gravity maybe tomorrow or Wednesday before bottling. You need to make sure that the SG readings are steady over 2 days before continuing. I will keep you all posted!

By the way, the next time I attempt this, I’m buying a 30 litre fermenter because this one is too small and yesterday it looked like it had rabies… was foaming all over the place. It does smell awesome though. Apparently that’s normal. Had me a bit worried though…

4 Responses

  1. Good Work! I’m sure it will turn out great – foaming won’t hurt the beer, just makes your floor sticky.

  2. Excellent work. Is the hydrometer only used to calculate the alcohol percentage, or does it have some other secondary use?

  3. The specific gravity of a liquid is basically its density, and that’s what the hydrometer measures. It determines the ratio of the density of the liquid to the density of water. So you could also use it to measure something like the density of milk, to determine whether it’s 2%, skim, etc.

  4. This is not Jesse Black, but I am just too lazy to sign out. Thats pretty neat.

    JESSE BLACK JESSE BLACK, BLACK BLACK JESSE.

Leave a Reply

