Dominus Vobiscum Blanche

Ever since fellow beer advocate and sibling Rob Nagy took a trip with his beloved to Montreal and Quebec City, I have become aware of a few very striking facts about Canadian beer. Most of what I learned from his stories of the beer culture of our French neighbours solidified what I already knew about Canadian beer (that the mass produced, corporate distilleries are predominantly alcoholic atrocities) and also opened my eyes up to a fantastic new horizon of craft brewing.

Excuse my ‘French’, but Quebec is fucking serious about beer. They clearly do not mess around. There are so many ‘brasseries des artisans’  everywhere that I, for one, would know what to do with. It seems to me that the extra bit of effort that is needed to produce beers of prestine calibre and quality is commonly understood by everyone; especially the consumers who are willing to pay more money to ensure that they are getting a treat.

This beer was a complete gamble. I knew no one who had tried this beer, and didn’t even have any idea what the beer’s name meant. Despite all this, I knew that it was a good choice to bring this puppy home because it was a craft beer made in Quebec. Just the fact that it was from Quebec shouted out to me from the shelves that this was totally going to be a worthwhile purchase: and I am not dissapointed.

The Dominus Vobiscum Blanch is a deep, entrancing wheat beer that is cloudy straw yellow color. The flavour is superb, with a suble tang of citrus and chamomile. The head is long lasting and quite thick. As I was pouring the last of this 500ml brew into my glass, in went some fine brown sediment that was still hanging out in the bottom of the bottle. This is another sign of an amazing beer: that there is so much in it that the brewers deliberately left sediment in there to continue to infuse the beer with potent and complex flavours. A very hardy beer.

The artwork on the bottle appears to be a print of a painting dipicting a fiery red sunset over the Canadian shield in Quebec. This beer means business.

One Response

  1. I’ll be sure to give this a try.

    Also, as I type this comment, I’m enjoying another soon-to-be-reviewed beer. As per my usual brew reviews… it’s Belgian.

Leave a Reply

