Outside the Hops: Thyme Ale

The time for herbal home-brew number two has arrived, and I decided on producing a thyme ale. There was no specific recipe that I found to make this, so it essentially entirely from scratch. Here is the ingredients list:

2.9 L water (another growler brew)
1 pound brown sugar
3 ounces thyme
1 ounce rosemary
brewing yeast

In order to make sure that the flavour of the herbs would not be too powerful or too weak, I looked over various other recipies that used similar herbs with simlar potancy such as mint and sage (mint, rosemary, thyme and sage are all part of the mint family) in order to get a good idea of the amount that I needed. So this is exactly what I did:

I boiled the 2.9 L of water and threw in the one ounce of rosemary and one ounce of the thyme. This simmered for about 15 minutes to which I then added the brown sugar and stirred until everything was dissolved. I then transfered the beer into a cleaned jug, then added the remaining two ounces of thyme. After the yeast was pitched, the airlock went on and now it’s sitting comfortably in a dark corner in my room wrapped with a sweater to keep out the light.

Steeping Thyme and Rosemary

Dissolving the Brown Sugar

I didn’t strain any of the first set of herbs that I simmered in the water, just to make sure that I

extract all of the benefitial nutrients and vitamins. I would like for this to be a bit on the

powerful side, sort of on the verge of being medicine. Thyme is one of our most cleansing herbs, and discourages viruses, bacteria and fungus with surprising vigour. Thyme essential oil has even proven effective in the treatment of black mold infections in damp old houses. It is also a wonderful digestive and soothing to the respiratory tract.

Rosemary is similar in many respects, but also has different virtues all together. It also affects you on an emotional level, clearing up headaches, mental cloudiness and fatigue and improving concentration and memory. So, I am hoping that this will be another good one. I made it Sunday afternoon, so it should take another 5-6 days to complete fermentation. After that, another 7-10 days bottle conditioning and it will be good to go. Pretty excited.

8 Responses

  1. Nice work Tim, sounds like a pretty tasty experiment!

  2. Ah yes, I forgot to log-in.

  3. That’s weird.

    Coming soon: liquorice and valerian root ale

  4. Damn, you crazy!~ Thyme and rosemary ale. I seriously suggest that you drink this brew while having a bowl of spagetti and meatballs. Mamma Mia!

  5. This one is actually taking longer than I thought to ferment, even after 8 days, it is still going strong!! No idea what could have contributed to that, perhaps a little too much sugar? Oh well, I am down with a stronger brew.

  6. Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

Leave a Reply

