Red Racer IPA

Here we go, a good old-fashioned commercial beer review…

This one is from Canadia, but it’s about as far from local as you can get. It’s from Surrey, BC. I know, shame on me for not buying local craft beers, especially since there is such an outrageous amount of local IPAs being produced right now.

I went to a craft beer tasting/show/thing here in Hamilton on the weekend, and was really shocked at just how many IPAs there are right now. Some are being produced on a large scale, while others are short-runs or even just experiments. The IPA trend right now is ridiculous… but awesome. I really like IPAs, especially in the summer. I find the crisp, citrusy bitterness of a retarded amount of hops to be completely refreshing, yet bold enough to still rank amongst some of my all-time faves.

I know that seems like an excessive amount, but the last time this beer made an appearance was in February. That’s a long time to wait for such a perfect summer-time ale. Thought it would be for the best to stock up.

Anyway, so you’ll have to excuse my indulgence in this not-so-local Canadian brew. It’s just too good to pass up. Out of all the IPAs I’ve had recently, this one REALLY stands out. It’s a strong ale, but not too strong. It is quite clean and easy-drinking, but it’s just strong to remind you to take it easy and make it last. To get an idea of what the real appeal of the flavour is, simply refer to the image below:

Whatever combination of various hops varieties they used for Red, it has an overwhelming citrus flavour. It’s like eating a ridiculously bitter grapefruit, but with just enough sugar to tone down the bitterness so that it isn’t overwhelming. This is a NEAR perfect IPA, in my opinion. Completely delicious.

   

I can only hope that that IPA we’re working on has a reminiscence of some of the flavour achieved in Red Racer. More on that soon.

 

5 Responses

  1. Yes! I have to pick up a few packs of this stuff. I haven’t seen it, but I haven’t really been looking for it.

    Try getting some Citra hops. They are suppose to give grapefruit, citrus and tropical fruit armoa. Try making a beer with nothing but that!

  2. I’m sure you’ve seen this before, or probably even have it bookmarked, but just in case…

    http://www.drinkvine.com/login.php

    I wanted to get some citra hops for the IPA we’re making right now, but they didn’t have any at NB. I guess everyone’s making IPAs right now!

  3. I believe they are serving this in Disneyland’s Califoria Adventure (in Flo’s Diner). They also serve Karl Strauss in the main food area as well.

  4. Anyone having or suspecting that they may have any
    infection or infectious disease should seek the advice of a medical
    professional immediately. . For this to work, you can’t have too many FM stations in your area because overlap from them will mute the meteor signal.

Leave a Reply

